//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Little Bit of Motivation

When I originally sat down to write a post, I didn’t exactly know what I was going to write about. I tend to focus a lot on food, but I also want to include an aspect of exercising in here as well. I’m not a fitness expert, I’ve only been to the gym a handful of times in my life. I hate the idea of people staring at me while I flop around on the treadmill huffing and puffing, so I developed a collection of dvds and a treadmill over the year. 

I know a thing or two about working out. I know that if you really want to lose weight, you’ll work out. If you really want your health back, your happiness back, and your life back-you’ll start moving. Working out doesn’t have to be hardcore cross fit crying biggest loser, it can be walking a mile (that’s not a lot, that’s a few blocks dude). If you start slow, you’ve got even more room to push yourself and look at what you’ve accomplished.

When I was in highschool, I weighed about 200 pounds. (I’m the one on the left)

Image

 

 

Unfortunately (or fortunately) I don’t have a lot of pictures during this time that I can find. I was a meth head, cocaine addict, and got into heroin for a bit, so taking pictures wasn’t a main priority.

 

When I quit drugs, I realized I needed to get a lot of other things in check, which included my weight. When I quit drugs, I had a large opportunity for this, including having a lot of time on my hands once I stopped hanging out with all my drug related friends. I substituted Cocaine Kenny for Billy Blanks and Leslie Samsone:

Image Image

 

Each day, I would do about 40-60 minutes of cardio kickboxing as well as a 1, 2, or 3 mile walk with Leslie. I still know the words by heart and probably could recite it without the video if I tried. Within 6-8 months I was down to 130-140 which is still my current weight. They key is that you have to do it everyday or else it won’t work. It’s easy and difficult at the same time but if you want something to work, you have to follow the rules. If you wanted to become a nurse, teacher, whatever, you have to go to school. You can take breaks, take the summer off, go on vacation, get a job, but it just leads you further into the abyss of not going back to school. If you want to be fit, you can’t just take breaks, thats the part of being fit that creates a healthy lifestyle that reflects the rest of your life.

Yes, you’ve heard it all before, but I just wish more people would understand that if you do something long enough, it is no longer hard! Sure working out is hard, but since it’s become a habit, I CRAVE it. I literally cannot go out without sweating for at least 30 minutes. I feel depressed, fatigued, fat, whatever. The moment I work out and get over the fact that I’m doing jumping jacks, the weight is lifted off my shoulders. I am a happier, healthier person.

 

So, please, get up and start moving. There are a MILLION youtube workouts. Blogilates, Be Fit, Denise Austin, Walk Away the Pounds, Tara Stiles, even Jillian Michaels is on there. You have no excuse and you’re doing yourself much more harm than good by not getting that heart rate up. I hope a little motivation is all you need to make this a commitment.

 

Image

 

 

For a list of amazing DVD’s check out Ironman’s list on Amazon

If you like walking, but not outdoors, check out Walk Away the Pounds

 

About exning

Vegan food and chicken love

Discussion

One thought on “A Little Bit of Motivation

  1. Nice essay, Exning–and as usually–stunning photo! Good job!

    Posted by brigitgoddess | May 11, 2013, 5:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Browse by category:

