//
you're reading...
Food

Sauteed zucchini salad

Recently I’ve been becoming more adventurous with my vegetable choices. A year ago, I wouldn’t have imagined chopping up a zucchini, but now I find myself trying to use it in anything possible. It’s cheap, easy, and sucks up flavor like no other.

In this dish, I used 1 zucchini and 1/2 chayote squash that I had left from a previous meal. I recently bought a vinaigrette from the farmers market down here that I wanted to try out, so I put a few tablespoons of that (you can use balsamic and olive oil or some sort of vinegar dressing you have around the house). I sprinkled some Dash, pepper, a dash of salt, onion powder, and minced garlic. Start on high in a small pan. Once it starts to sizzle, cook on low until it’s golden brown.

may 002

Create a pit in the middle of your fancy salad. In this salad I included romaine, 2 baby snack peppers, 1 sliced carrot, and a bit of sunflower seeds.

may 003

may 004

The carrots give you an amazing source of Vitamin A, K, and fiber. Improved vision as well as anti-cancer benefits give these babies high priorities on my list. There is a natural pesticide carrots produce called Falcarinol that protects the roots from fungal diseases. Carrots, so far, have been the only vegetable that carries falcarinol, which is believed to have anti-cancerous properties. So I say, eat up! Carrots also improve skin complexion and prevent heart disease.

Bell peppers give your body a great source of Vitamin C as well as A. I use bell peppers in almost everything I eat. There sweet, crunchy, and versatile properties can be added in salads, soups, whatever you want! Bell peppers are rich in antioxidants with very low calories.

I always keep a container of sunflower seeds in the freezer. They store fresher in the freezer, and lately they’ve been quite cheap. Unsalted, plain, sunflower seeds that is. The added nutty flavor in your salads helps satisfy that fat craving you might lack in a salad. The seeds are super high in Vitamin E, magnesium, and selenium. Sunflower seeds have anti-inflammatory and cardiovascular benefits, which include reducing asthma issues and arthritis. Sunflower seeds are also shown to lower cholesterol and calm nerves.

It all seems silly, how much food can benefit you. Like it’s a myth. But it isn’t. I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt sick or even depressed. And this is coming from a lady allergic to 50 things living in an agriculturally polluted valley and has been on medication all her life. Not only have I not made a doctor visit, but I’ve also lowered my visits to the pharmacy for anti depressants. I only mention a few benefits; you can read the full extensive benefits on www.whfoods.com

may 005

About exning

Vegan food and chicken love

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Browse by category:

