//
you're reading...
Food

Vegan Pumpkin Pie

20130930-145923.jpg

I’m already preparing for Thanksgiving. The second it dipped below 90 degrees I was ready to put my scarf and hoodie on and drink hot tea in the afternoon. Unfortunately, it still is 100 degrees and our chickens come inside during the heat of the day. They are saved from Thanksgiving! Although I haven’t had meat in years, I am pretty sure this will be the first Thanksgiving as a full fledged vegan.

Typically, I go to a family dinner, take leftovers from my boyfriends family, and go all out experimenting with my mom during the day. One year we even had tofu kabobs as a main dish! I think since this year is different, there will be more making food for others rather than eating theirs. I don’t want to be that a hole who has to constantly ask whats in things, so giving rather than getting seems a lot easier. Luckily, people are already use to my particular eating because they are constantly reminded I have allergies.

So, with that being said, I was craving a pumpkin pie. We don’t have a lot of vegan options where I live, let alone a baked good. Either way, I like to know whats in my food, so baking it myself was necessary.

I used dates and almonds as my crust, adding wheat bran and wheat germ for added nutrition. Place it all in a food processor (i use a ninja) and pulse till its ground up to your preference. In a 5×11 (or similar sized pan) spray a thin layer of cooking spray and press mixture in.

Crust:

10-12 soft de-pitted dates
1.5 cups raw almonds
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/8 cup wheat bran
1/8 cup ground flax
Generous heaping sprinkles of:
Chai tea spices, ground ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon

(You can just use the dates and almonds if you dont have the rest, i just added it for more nutrition)

Filling:

3 tablespoons cornstarch mixed with equal part water and set aside. This is acting as your thickener/egg. Use egg replacement if you need to.

Dry ingredients:

2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon corn starch
1 tablespoon chai tea spice
1 tablespoon cinnamon
Generous pinches of nutmeg and ginger (i never measure these)
1/2 cup wheat or white flour
3/4 cup raw sugar

Wet ingredients:

2 cups pureed pumpkin (i used generic canned pumpkin you typically can find but any will do as long as the consistency is the same)
1/2 cup almond or soy milk
1 tablespoon maple syrup

Bake at 350 for 60 minutes

20130930-144924.jpg

Let cool and place in fridge overnight. I know, I’m sorry i didn’t warn you! Everything has to set and flavors have to explode. I’m sure you could try it in a few hours if you can’t wait, but I haven’t tried it that way so don’t blame me! Its delicious and healthy and can easily fool any non vegan. I hope you try this tasty pumpkin pie and see for yourself.

About exning

Vegan food and chicken love

Discussion

One thought on “Vegan Pumpkin Pie

  1. Great information. Lucky me I recently found
    your site by chance (stumbleupon). I have bookmarked it for later!

    Posted by roasted pumpkin seeds | May 7, 2014, 2:26 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Browse by category:

